top of page

My Security is My Tribe: Mooladhara Chakra - Root Support

Updated: Mar 30, 2022

Seven of the hundreds of Chakras in our subtle body largely influence our lives

Seven main chakras are power centers of the human energy system. As we energize our chakras, they become healthy and balanced, spiritual energy flows more powerfully through our body, mind, emotions, spirit.

This is helpful because we become more connected to the Divine within, awareness of our truth increases. We then make healthier choices in our thoughts, words, and actions. We feel more joy, our lives become transformed.

First 3 chakras dealing with external power, and most illness originates from loss of energy in these first 3 chakras, regardless of where it shows up in the body.

The first chakra is Mooladhara or Muladhara, means “Root Support” Also known as the Doorway to the Divine. Mooladhara governs our sense of stability, security and interconnectedness. The color is red. It is located at the base of the spine, perineum. The tone "Lang" is the seed sound or bija mantra for this root chakra. It is associated with the element earth.

The hand posture or Mudra to use while meditating on the Root Chakra is Gyan Mudra or known in Oneness as Pranakriya 1 (tips of index fingers touch tips of thumbs) with hands resting face up on your thighs. This chakra is largely about survival and feeling safe and secure in the world. We often find our feeling of safety through our connection with family, the innermost circle of the tribe.

Join us for Chakra Dhyana or Chakra Meditation on Thursdays on Instagram Live @cobizrichmond at 12:30 p.m., Pacific.

1 Comment

lucretia bolin
lucretia bolin
Feb 03, 2022

So thoroughly enjoyed this opportunity to go within, to explore and to be with spirit. I could certainly relate. I look forward to more of your teachings.



bottom of page