top of page

Anahata Chakra: Living from the Heart

Updated: Mar 30, 2022

A Powerful Way to Show Up in the World Giving and Receiving Love

Anahata is the gateway between the lower and upper chakras. When this chakra is in balance we are ready to explore the higher chakras, which are related to our spiritual journey. In Sanskrit, Anahata means "unstruck," "unhurt" or "unbeaten."

When it is open fully, the Heart Chakra becomes what the Buddhists call Mahakaruna: A Channel for Universal Compassion – Our True Self. It is here where we invite this Infinite Love to flow through us, allowing it to heal ourselves and others. The lesson of the Heart is that we first must Love and Accept ourselves before we can Love Others.

Anahata Chakra is located along the spinal column in the center of the chest. The color associated with the chakra is green. The mudra or hand position for Anahata Chakra is Pranakriya 2 (tips of the index fingers touching the midline of the thumb). The bija mantra (seed sound) is Yang. The element is air. The expression is "I LOVE."

Anahata is associated with is the thymus, a critical component of the immune system. Anahata helps us to build immunity against pain and disease. It has an impact on the heart & circulatory system, lungs, shoulders and arms, ribs/breasts, diaphragm, thymus gland.

The following parts of the body are affected by this chakra - arms, breasts, circulatory system, hands, heart, lungs, shoulders, wrists. With an imbalanced heart chakra we could feel heart palpitations, chest pain, poor circulation, high/low blood pressure, and in more serious cases, heart attack. Because Anahata also governs our emotions, this chakra also helps us build immunity to hurtful experiences. When Anahata is balanced, our unconditional love for all we encounter can transform our experience of these emotions. The message of the heart chakra is to accept the oneness of all of life—but we need to first love ourselves.

Balanced Heart Chakra

When Anahata is in balance, it is the archetype of Lover, in the true sense of the word. We will feel a great compassion for all living creatures, and will recognize their amazing intelligence! We will be kind, caring, understand, joyous and outgoing, feeling completely at ease with ourselves and the people in our life. We will understand others and accept them for who they are; we will not judge or be critical of their actions. Spending time alone is something we do not mind, and we are not rushing into one relationship after another, in-fact, we would rather wait for the “right” one to come to us – because we know it will come to us when the time is right.

Over-Active Heart Chakra

If our heart chakra is over active we could be ruled by our emotions; sadness, anger, grief, despair, greediness and happiness will come over us with no or little control. We may be manipulative, overly critical, and judgmental of ourself and others. Our love may have conditions, “I will only love you if you are this way...” and we are likely to be a “people pleaser,” afraid that we will not be liked or accepted by others around us. We may find ourselves in a relationship with a partner where we are always giving but not receiving, always forgiving, and “cleaning up” after them, whether it is emotionally, or physically. Co-dependancy can result from this, and we may find it hard to let go of any relationship, that no longer serves your Highest Good.

Under-Active Heart Chakra

When our heart chakra is under-active we may probably be very negative in our thinking, and may find it very difficult to keep a positive out-look in life. We could feel unloved, unworthy and unappreciated, and this may manifest in the world around us, confirming these “beliefs” about ourselves. We may have a hard time trusting others, and may have a difficult time “letting” them in, keeping ourselves at a distance. The archetype is that of Actor or Actress when this chakra is not balanced. Those who play at love but do not allow true intimacy.

When the Anahata Chakra is not balanced, we may feel withdrawn or lonely. We may be unable to forgive. Jealousy and possessiveness also indicate an imbalanced heart chakra.

Sitting outside and feeling the breeze upon your skin, can be very healing for your heart, since its element is air and its color is green. Because the color green is around us in the trees and in the grass, going out walking, or laying in the grass and allowing the heart to feel it, can begin to bring it into balance!

Join us for Chakra Dhyana or Chakra Meditation on Thursdays on Instagram Live @cobizrichmond at 12:30 p.m., Pacific.


bottom of page